“Andy” Anderson, The Red Barn, Chief Hotel Court and Nevada Motel to be added to Boneyard Electrified Sign Offerings in September 2018
LAS VEGAS (September 2018) – The Neon Museum will significantly expand the number of electrified signs on view in its Boneyard exhibition space when it adds Anderson Dairy’s “Andy” Anderson, The Red Barn, Chief Hotel Court and Nevada Motel signs in September 2018. Along with Dot’s Flowers, installed in the Boneyard this summer, these signs were all previously displayed on Third Street just north of The Fremont Experience but have been in storage in recent years. Installation is set to begin the week of September 17 taking approximately 10 days to complete. Upon completion, the Boneyard will be home to 16 fully restored, electrified signs. The installation will be executed by Federal Heath.
“The addition of these iconic signs helps not only further illuminate our iconic exhibition space, but also enhances the visitor’s experience by adding to the historical breadth represented in the Boneyard,” explains Tracey Sprague, collections manager, Neon Museum. “Each of these new signs has a unique background and origin highlighting how Southern Nevada’s commercial history spans everything—from the wholesome to the salacious.”
Reservations are recommended for all Neon Museum tours and may be booked online here.
ABOUT THE NEWLY INSTALLED ELECTRIFIED SIGNS
“Andy” Anderson – Anderson Dairy Milkman
Anderson Dairy, founded in Las Vegas in 1907, enlarged its dairy plant in the mid-1950s as the population grew in the Las Vegas valley. The new sign for the business was created by YESCO designer Hermon Boernge. Boernge’s design consisted of block lettering and a red and white bull’s eye cabinet with the “Andy” Anderson milkman, the company’s mascot, at the top. The sign was installed on the roof of the new Anderson Dairy facility, and was ultimately taken down during another expansion in 1994.
The Red Barn
The Red Barn opened in 1958 as an antique store on Tropicana Avenue near Maryland Parkway, and was converted into a bar in the early 1960s. By day, the bar catered to straight customers but served a largely gay clientele at night. By the early 1970s it had evolved into one of the few openly gay bars in Las Vegas. The bar offered drag shows like the popular RB Follies and published the “RB Bag,” one of the earliest gay magazines in Southern Nevada. The Red Barn closed in March 1988 and the building burned down several months later.
Chief Hotel Court
The Chief Hotel Court opened in 1939 as the Chief Autel Court on E. Fremont Street, and its c. 1940 sign is among the oldest in Las Vegas. The Chief Hotel Court design is possibly derived from the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railroad’s Santa Fe Chief train, as owner Harold J. Stocker’s family had worked for the railroad company. The sign itself is an example of the romantic imagery depicting Native Americans that became prevalent across the nation after the turn of the century, often seen in advertisements and sports teams. The sign depicts a stereotypical Plains Indian motif and inadvertently served to erase the presence of the actual native Paiute people still living in the area. Today, we continue to struggle with the romanticized image of Native Americans.
Among the first crop of motor courts along Las Vegas Blvd. that set the stage for the growth of the Strip, the Nevada Motel added this sign in the early 1950s. It features the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce’s cowboy character, later known as Vegas Vic, that was used in advertisements as part of their western-themed promotional efforts.
Previously on display at the Fremont Street Experience, this sign moved from storage into the Boneyard this past summer. Dot’s Flowers sign is an homage to those who support Las Vegas’ quick and easy wedding industry. The sign was built by YESCO for the flower shop’s opening on S. 5th St (now Las Vegas Blvd) in 1949.
ABOUT THE NEON MUSEUM
Founded in 1996, the Neon Museum is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, studying and exhibiting iconic Las Vegas signs for educational, historic, arts and cultural enrichment. It has been named “Best Museum” by Las Vegas
Weekly, one of “Sin City’s Best Retro Sites” by MSN, “No. 1 Las Vegas Museum Sure to Entertain and Educate” by USAToday’s 10best.com, “One of the Top 10 Coolest Things You Didn’t Know You Could Do” by Forbes.com, one of the “Top 10 Historic Spots in Las Vegas” by Vegas.com; one of “15 Most Fascinating Museums in the U.S.” by VacationIdea.com; and earns a consistent 4.5 out of 5 rating on TripAdvisor. On its 2.27-acre campus, the Neon Museum houses an outdoor exhibition space known as the Neon Boneyard (“boneyard” is traditionally the name for an area where items no longer in use are stored); the North Gallery, home to the nighttime augmented-reality, audiovisual spectacle, “Brilliant!”; the new Boulevard Gallery outdoor exhibit and event space; and its visitors’ center, housed inside the former La Concha Motel lobby. The museum collection also includes nine restored signs installed as public art throughout downtown Las Vegas and one restored sign on view at the outdoor Fashion Show Plaza on the Las Vegas Strip. Public education, outreach, research, archival preservation and a grant-funded neon sign survey represent a selection of the museum’s ongoing projects. Both the Neon Boneyard and the La Concha Visitors’ Center are located at 770 Las Vegas Blvd. North in Las Vegas. For tour schedules and pricing information, visit NeonMuseum.org. Follow on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
# # #